Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Whats Wrong???  (Read 6025 times)
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« on: March 08, 2010, 05:49:30 PM »

Okay well I'm making a map in N.I.L.E. and basically it goes if you destroy this control panel it shuts off the laser grid and when the laser grid shuts off the guy is supposed to RUN to the helicopter and get in. Well i got all of this except instead of the guy RUNNING to the helicopter he just teliports inside of it and that's not what i want any help?, Thanks

.WAC is
 If never() and ssndead(132147) then
Removessn(66594)
Endif
if ssndead(132147) then ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif


(132147=The Control Panel
66594=The Laser Grid
1129=The Guy
66666=The Helicopter)
« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 06:35:19 PM by SGM Luke Nadewalker » Logged
Tacoma
Private
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 08:06:56 PM »

There is something missing. If the AI is teleported to the object, somewhere in your code there is a line that says ssnuse(1129)
Logged
Jobiwan
Specialist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2010, 04:32:28 AM »

If never and ssndead(132147) then
removessn(66594)
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif

You have too much code.  The above should be enough.
Logged

"Do or do not, there is no try"
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2010, 04:20:54 PM »

somewhere in your code there is a line that says ssnuse(1129)

No there Obviously isnt that in my code i clearly posted the whole .WAC code
Logged
Tacoma
Private
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2010, 05:07:09 PM »

Can you email this map and wac file to me? I would like to take a look at it. asavent@hotmail.com

To teleport an AI, the use of ssnuse() is required. Without this code, the AI will walk to the vehicle until he is very close, then jump to an available seat. The last few feet will look like teleporting, maybe this is what you are trying to avoid.

If this is not the case and he is teleporting a great distance without the use of ssnuse() then this is a unique problem that I have not seen before and I would love to take a look at the map itself, with wac code, please.
Logged
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2010, 05:43:08 PM »

ahhhh well that might be the problem because the AI is inside a building but the helicopter is right outside the building. Could this be the problem???
Logged
Luke Nadewalker
Site Admins
Sergeant Major
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 692


Original Creator


« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2010, 05:57:24 PM »

move the helo further away to find out
Logged
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2010, 06:04:51 PM »

ok well that was the problem but now i have one more the guy trys to walk to the helicopter but he wont walk out of the room and out of the house to get to it he trys to walk threw the wall so he just mindlessly walks into the wall any help?
Logged
Tacoma
Private
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2010, 06:32:30 PM »

You need a two step process.  First you need to lay down waypoints and make a one way waypath out of it, then tell the AI to follow it when the event causes the laser to be removed. When the AI has reached the end of the waypath, which would be determined with an ssnnearssn() code using the last waypoint on the list as the destination, then you give the command ssn2ssn() to have him walk to the chopper.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 06:35:40 PM by SGM Luke Nadewalker » Logged
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2010, 08:47:47 PM »

ok well i got the guy to go to the helicopter but for some reason he wont get inside it heres the .WAC (its probobly not all the way correct im new to this)

if never() and ssndead(132147)() then //New Event
   SSNtoWP(1129,3)
endif
if ssnnearssn(1129,66666) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif


1129=the pilot
3=the waypoint
66666=the helicopter
Logged
Luke Nadewalker
Site Admins
Sergeant Major
********
Offline Offline

Posts: 692


Original Creator


« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2010, 08:52:33 PM »

ok well i got the guy to go to the helicopter but for some reason he wont get inside it heres the .WAC (its probobly not all the way correct im new to this)

if never() and ssndead(132147)() then //New Event
   SSNtoWP(1129,3)
endif
if ssnnearssn(1129,66666,distance) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif


Logged
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2010, 09:12:48 PM »

ok i put the distance the .WAC now looks like this


if never() and ssndead(132147)() then //New Event
   SSNtoWP(1129,3)
endif
if ssnnearssn(1129,66666,5) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif

but it still doesnt work
Logged
We Are BORG !!!
Specialist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 95


We Are BORG !!!


« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2010, 10:45:47 PM »

You have an extra set of () in your code
                           
                                             ^Here^
if never() and ssndead(132147)() then //New Event
   SSNtoWP(1129,3)                ^Here^
endif
if ssnnearssn(1129,66666,5) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif

This should fix it

if ssndead(132147) then
   SSNtoWP(1129,3)               
endif
if ssnnearssn(1129,66666,5) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
ssnuse(1129)
endif


« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 11:31:02 PM by We Are BORG !!! » Logged

We Are BORG !!!
Jobiwan
Specialist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2010, 03:04:07 AM »

Try

if never and ssnnearssn(1129,66666,5) then
ssn2ssn(1129,66666)
endif

Or try making the distance part bigger, I think the distance is measured from the centre of the object, so if it's a big object 5 might not be enough.
Logged

"Do or do not, there is no try"
Tacoma
Private
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2010, 08:19:55 AM »

There are three things that you could do to correct this:
? change the ssnnearssn() object from the chopper to the last waypoint ssn# on waypath #3
? move the last waypoint on waypath #3 closer to the chopper.
? increase the distance in your ssnnearssn() condition. 

A word about distance:
In placing waypoints you should always stipulate a radius. This will create a visible dome or shell representing this waypoint.  When an AI is following a waypath, the game engine will recognize the AI has reached this waypoint when he enters the perimeter of this shell.

Because of this, if you are going to use the chopper in your condition, you will need to set your distance with consideration of the outside edge of your last waypoint to the center of the chopper object.

And by the way, in Borg's script in both of his conditions are missing 'never' statements so they won't work as intended.
Logged
We Are BORG !!!
Specialist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 95


We Are BORG !!!


« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2010, 11:40:23 AM »

Very true... my bad.
Logged

We Are BORG !!!
CodyT95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2010, 01:02:53 PM »

Okay i FINALLY got it now the distance number wasnt set high enough but it all works now Thanks everyone
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  





Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SimplePortal 2.3.2 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal